I like to steal.

“Good artists copy, great artists steal.” – Pablo Picasso

dog town – courtesy

So, I am not an artist. I’m not really anything, but I do appreciate certain eccentricities about what people create.

I have always been a skateboarder. I started skating with some guys in my neighborhood when I was about 11 years old. It was at times brutal, getting hurt, peer pressure to fit in or be competitive, and most of all the most fucking awesome thing I have ever done in my life.

In a great documentary titled Drive, Mike Vallely speaks to Minor Threat front man Ian Mackaye about the influence of skateboarding in his life. To summarize, Mackaye explains how skateboarders are original people, see the world in a different light. They look at walls as something to be conquered, they look at street benches as a way to release their creativity. Link to the interview is below.

Ian Mackaye on Skateboarding

Mike V and Ian Mackaye 

I think there is something to be said about skateboarders and art. Have you ever looked at the bottom of a skateboard? Have you ever looked at the bottom of a skateboard after it has been used heavily after a few months? Usually you get something like this.

 

See most people would think that the skateboard is ruined and its time for a new one. No, see the board is the brush, and everything in between is the canvas. So, I guess your asking yourself, “Where the hell is this guy going with this skateboard thing?” Well, my point is this, what happens to skateboarders, when they stop skating? What happens when they take on other interests? Some insights might be the following:

 

So, this is only 2 guys, I know, but WordPress is limited and its about 11 pm at the moment. For me this blog and my ideas are not about art and not about always creatively expressing myself. For me, its about what real, what am I capable of. Skateboarding and many other physical sports also share the same philosophy. I wish I could attach photos of my latest work, but WordPress is not letting me at the moment. So, enjoy the links.

Leave a Reply

