Another Man’s Goodwill Donation is another Woman’s Treasure Box

jewelrybox11

So, yeah, I have been side tracked. But. look, this is progress…

Chair #3 with poly spray

The #3 chair post is coming soon.

IMG_20140216_144819_167

I wanted to give an update on the Goodwill Jewelry Box for my better half. I have reassembled and re-felted the interior compartment. Not to mention I have replaced the existing mirror glass which shattered to pieces when I removed the old felt lining.

I want to thank Stained Glass Supplies in Eagle Rock for the 1) great selection of glass, and 2) how nice the owner was who measured the back of the jewelry box and cut the glass for me. Please check out their website: http://www.stainedglassandfusingsupplies.weebly.com they have stained glass classes for everyone if your interested.

Stained Glass Supplies 2104 Colorado Blvd Los Angeles, CA 90041

Stained Glass Supplies
2104 Colorado Blvd
Los Angeles, CA 90041

A HUGE SELECTION OF RARE GLASS.

A HUGE SELECTION OF RARE GLASS.

On top of replacing the glass I needed to find felt that was radical, yet sophisticated and met my need to radically change the look of this Goodwill find.

Radical Floral Patterned Felt.

Radical Floral Patterned Felt.

I have never worked with felt in past projects so this was new to me. I did some research and found that I needed a strong adhesive for the fabric so that once it was on. It would stay on. I decided to go with the only fabric glue I could find which was Aleen’s Fabric Fusion.

This stuff is not cheap a bottle win run you $15.00. I bought it at Michaels with the felt. Some expenses you can’t avoid, but keep in mind you can reuse a lot of your materials for the next project and it is all about creating an inventory of tools for the next project.

Before refinishing and re=felting.

Before refinishing and re=felting.

Now I’m ready for re-felting.

Making templates of my felted spaces.

Making templates of my felted spaces.

Yellow 2 tone for the small drawers.

Yellow 2 tone for the small drawers.

Pre-cut felt and the tools for re-felting.

Pre-cut felt and the tools for re-felting.

Aleen's Fabric Fusion, just like regular glue.

Aleen’s Fabric Fusion, just like regular glue.

Radical Floral Patterned Felt.

Radical Floral Patterned Felt.

IMG_20140216_131943_721 IMG_20140216_144819_167Finished right? Nope, I got put a piece of plastic in the front door which will upgrade the look as well as keep what’s inside the box inside. Additionally, my center ring holder has still not been found. Let me leave you with a video for some extra thought in the felt business.

Leave a Reply

