If Graffiti Artists Had Air Compressors.

I have always been a huge fan of the artist David Choe, even before he became a bajillionaire from a lucky gamble with Facebook. I am proud to be a fan from back in the Giant Robot Magazine days. I believe it was the Giant Robot issue of David Choe’s drawings from when he was in a Japaneses prison that made a really big fan.

Part of my motivation to work in a creative field has been molded by artist’s like Choe and local influences like the brief and beautiful run of Giant Robot Magazine. I wanted to be a person who contributed to the arts, but to also contribute to technology. Through out my education and coming to age from teenager to adult I have always been focused on these two areas. What I have discovered is that my art is not conventional and I certainly am not a painter in the true sense of the term. Here is some of my early attempts to painting.

JOURNEY

What I did realize is that I am good with my hands and I was raised by two wonderful people who believe in this one simple idea…

In other words, anything is possible. You just have to think about it in a different way. So, the reason I painted was to because I wanted so bad to be an artist in the true sense of the name, to be a person who had an incredible talent some way or another. Around this time in my life I was introduced to cars. Specifically two cars, a shit brown 1982 Dodge D50 pick up truck and a 1988 Volvo 240 DL wagon. I learned how to fix cars and how to make them cool.

Pop and Baer working on Eva.

Pop and Baer working on Eva.

Enjoy this video its one of the best on well a very unique subject. If you look closely you can see the hip hop artist Maklemore hiding in the background. My V-O-L-V-O.

So, much of my influences have came from many different facets, but what happens when you give a wannabe graffiti, mechanic, engineer, and designer an air compressor. You get a guy who loves to try new things.

I have entered into a new realm and have begun to utilize actual technology to create the art I choose to make. Enjoy the following photos of my primed chair using a cheap Harbor freight spray paint gun.

photo 3photo 4photo 5photo 1photo 4 photo 5 spray 3

Leave a Reply

