So, this is just a small side track, I promise.

Jewelry Box CollageIt’s been the holidays and I have not been able to really devote any time to working on my dinning set, but I have got a small side project that may interest you. See, my significant other has a birthday right after New Years, so I thought it would be cool to provide her with a renewed jewelry box. I found the jewelry box at a little thrift store in Pacomia. The box cost me $4.99. I decided to sand it and throw some paint on it. This box will require some new felt and a new ring holder. Here’s a creative look at what some folks have been re-purposing for ring holders.

I like this one, but my other half would seriously disagree with it in her new bling bling box. I’m thinking something more like this set in the center.

Courtesy: http://www.polyvore.com/cgi/img-thing?.out=jpg&size=l&tid=25653403

Courtesy: http://www.polyvore.com/cgi/img-thing?.out=jpg&size=l&tid=25653403

So the idea is very simple. Sand, primer, paint, refelt, reassemble, and glue ring holder. I’m using simple primer and a 2 tone interior to exterior effect. Something like this.

My better half is partial to the following combination of colors.

photo 2I think I can make it work.

Here is the process in photos from start to primer:

photo 2 photo 3 photo 4 photo 5 photo 1 photo 3 photo 3 photo 1

Next few days I will be painting and masking for the 2 tone interior effect. Gray exterior, Yellow interior. and the painting the hardware.

 

Leave a Reply

