SO, WHY DO THEY CALL IT FINISH, BECAUSE I AM SO NOT FINISHED.

Chair with second coat of of oil based polyurethane.

Chair with second coat of of oil based polyurethane.

Tonight was a test.  First, I’m tired after working a full day. Second, I love how the chair looks and to be frankly honest, I don’t want to fuck it up. Excuse my French. Basically, you don’t see the imperfections, but you do feel them. I need to figure out how to DENIB the chair with out destroying the first coat. What I decided to do is wipe down the whole chair with a coat of mineral spirits (paint thinner). This removed a lot of the minor bumps and such. Then I took a new approach to applying finish. I used the “Brush on. Wipe off. Method” This I hope, makes the coat smooth out. Next I will need to actually attempt to sand the chair with something like 1200 grit sand paper because 440 ain’t going to cut it. Most likely it will destroy the finish. After applying a light sanding, “Wax on. Wax off.” Please enjoy the following side by side comparison of what I have to work with. You be the judge… Am I on the right path for a beautiful product? Or did I just destroy a once beautiful piece of furniture.

Side by side comparison.

Side by side comparison.

Side by side comparison.
Side by side comparison.

Before.

Before.

After.

After.

Leave a Reply

